MINUTES OF AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall Portsmouth on Tuesday, 15 July 2014 at 2.00 pm

Council Members Present

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor Steven Wylie (in the Chair)

Councillors

| Councillor Margaret Adair |
|-----------------------------|
| Councillor Michael Andrewes |
| Councillor Simon Bosher |
| Councillor Alicia Denny |
| Councillor Ben Dowling |
| Councillor Ken Ellcome |
| Councillor John Ferrett |
| Councillor Ken Ferrett |
| Councillor David Fuller |
| Councillor Colin Galloway |
| Councillor Paul Godier |
| Councillor Aiden Gray |
| Councillor Terry Hall |
| Councillor Steve Hastings |
| Councillor Hannah Hockaday |
| Councillor David Horne |
| Councillor Lee Hunt |
| Councillor Frank Jonas |
| Councillor Donna Jones |
| Councillor Leo Madden |

Councillor Hugh Mason Councillor Lee Mason Councillor Robert New Councillor Stuart Potter Councillor Will Purvis **Councillor Darren Sanders Councillor Eleanor Scott** Councillor Lynne Staga Councillor Les Stevens Councillor Sandra Stockdale Councillor Luke Stubbs Councillor Julie Swan **Councillor Linda Symes** Councillor Alistair Thompson Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson **Councillor Steve Wemyss Councillor Matthew Winnington** Councillor Rob Wood **Councillor Neill Young**

61. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Margaret Foster.

62. Deputations from the Public under Standing Order No 24

The City Solicitor advised that there are two deputations in respect of agenda item 3 and two deputations in respect of agenda item 4. Dr Alan Burnett, of Portsmouth Pensioners' Association made a deputation in support of the proposal to confer the title of honorary alderman on two recent former members of the city council - Mr Jim Patey and Mr Mike Park.

Mr Steve Bonner, vice-chair of Portsmouth Pensioners' Association made his deputation again in support of the proposal to confer the title of honorary alderman on Mr Jim Patey and Mr Mike Park.

63. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen - Jim Patey

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Mr Jim Patey as an honorary alderman, the motion will need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.

It was

Proposed by Councillor John Ferrett Seconded by Councillor David Horne

That the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Mr Jim Patey, a former member of the Portsmouth City Council.

RESOLVED unanimously that the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Mr Jim Patey and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to him at a future city council meeting.

64. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen - Mike Park

It was

Proposed by Councillor Steve Wemyss Seconded by Councillor Donna Jones

That the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Mr Mike Park, a former Portsmouth city councillor.

RESOLVED unanimously that the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Mr Mike Park and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to him at a future city council meeting.

The extraordinary meeting then concluded.

.....

Lord Mayor